Inaugural Media Release

Before more than 100 family, friends and members of the community, Chatham-Kent Councillors took their oath of office and held council’s inaugural meeting last night at the Capitol Theatre.

Councillors were piped in by Ken Poole and escorted by the Chatham-Kent Police and Fire Honour Guard.

Justice of the Peace the Honorable Calvin Hurst administered the oath of office and witnessed the signatures of each elected official.

Mayor Darrin Canniff said, while he expects councillors do to their best, “we can’t do it alone. We need help from everybody.”

He challenged members of the community to each do “five percent more” whether it be through joining community groups, volunteering or making donations.

Chatham-Kent CAO Michael Duben congratulated councillors on their election and pledged the support of all municipal employees in helping council achieve its goals.

New councillors Conor Allin, Lauren Anderson, Ryan Doyle, Rhonda Jubenville, and Alysson Storey join returning members Michael Bondy, Anthony Ceccacci, Marjorie Crew, Amy Finn, Aaron Hall, Melissa Harrigan, Jamie McGrail, Brock McGregor, Carmen McGregor, Steve Pinsonneault, Trevor Thompson and John Wright.

Also, during Monday’s event, congratulatory messages were read out on behalf of members of parliament Dave Epp and Lianne Rood, and members of provincial parliament Trevor Jones and Monte McNaughton.

Soloist Stacie Dengel sang the national anthem and town crier George Sims delivered a proclamation to mark the significance of the evening.