Skip to main page content

This website uses cookies to enhance the usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using the website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Community Recognition Awards logo
Image of a Community Leader

Community Recognition Awards

​The Community Recognition Awards Program is a partnership between the Mayor's Office and CN Railway.

This annual initiative is designed to celebrate and honour the individuals who have made a significant contribution to our community.

Our program recognizes and appreciates the hard work, dedication, and selfless service of individuals who have gone above and beyond to make a positive impact on the community.

We believe that acknowledging and recognizing the efforts of community members is essential in promoting a culture of volunteerism and community service. Our goal is to inspire and encourage others to get involved and make a difference in their community.

Our program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, innovation, creativity, and commitment to their community. The award is open to all community members, including volunteers, educators, healthcare professionals, public servants, and other non-paid community leaders.

Our program aims to celebrate those that have but are not limited to the categories below:

  • Outstanding Volunteer: Recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding volunteer service in the community.
  • Community Leadership: Recognizes an individual who has shown exceptional leadership skills and has made a significant impact on the community.
  • Innovation and Creativity: Recognizes an individual who has demonstrated exceptional innovation and creativity in addressing community challenges.
  • Lifetime Achievement: Recognizes an individual who has made a significant impact on the community over their lifetime.

We believe that recognizing individuals for their contributions to the community is a crucial step in building a stronger, more vibrant, and engaged community.

This year's winners will be recognized publicly at an event scheduled on May 31st, and their accomplishments will be shared with the community through various channels. This program is not only a way to acknowledge the great work being done in our community but also a way to inspire others to get involved and make a difference.

If you know of someone or a group that you believe is deserving of recognition for their contributions to our community, please contact your councillor.

2023 Honourees

Jackie Beatty - Thamesville

Ken Bechard - Chatham

Carol Ann Belanger - Mitchell's Bay

Richard Bouwmeester - Blenheim

George & Margaret Darnley - Merlin

Kim Doucet - Tilbury

Hassan El Khodr - Chatham

Dianne Flook - Raleigh Township

Jim & Lisa Gilbert - Chatham

Derek & Brett Gore - Chatham

Sandra Johnston - Wallaceburg

Tim Joyce - Blenheim

Blake Handsor - Chatham

Mary Ann Hawthorne - Ridgetown

Liz Kominek - Dresden

Donna Matier - Wheatley

Donald McKillop - Highgate

James Rankin - Pain Court

Newt & Deb Richardson - Wallaceburg

Bert Vanderheide - Thamesville

Jeff Vidler - Erieau

Dorothy Wallace - Chatham

The Williston Family - Chatham

Marianne Willson - Chatham

Bill Wolsing - Wallaceburg

Canadian National Railway Logo    Sponsored by the Canadian National Railway