Skip to main page content
Place of Many Grasses metal sculpture surrounded by tall grasses.
Skip Navigation LinksLivingCK > Communities > Land Acknowledgment

Traditional Territory Acknowledgment

The land that is known as Chatham-Kent today was established as part of Treaty #2, the McKee Purchase Treaty of 1790. At that time, the land was also inhabited by the Three Fires Confederacy: the Odawa, Potawatomi and Ojibwe. These Indigenous Nations, known as the Anishinaabeg and Lunaapeew, agreed to the mutual sharing of the land, with obligations and responsibilities to the environment. Today, Chatham-Kent neighbours the Lunaapeew at Delaware Nation which is part of the McKee Purchase Treaty, as well as the unceded territory of the Bkejwanong Walpole Island First Nation. Chatham-Kent continues to be home to diverse First Nations Peoples and Métis Peoples. As beneficiaries of the treaty, we recognize all Peoples have responsibilities including collective responsibilities to the land and water.

We invite you to reflect upon how you are upholding treaty responsibilities, and to learn more about the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action.

If we can improve on this statement, please contact us at

Thank you to the Knowledge Keepers of the 'Culture Card Committee' for creating and enabling us to share the A Road to Understanding Indigenous Culture document.