Community Heroes: Community Recognition Awards

In partnership with CN Railway, the Municipality of Chatham-Kent is pleased to announce the implementation of the Community Recognition Awards Program. 

This new initiative will celebrate the outstanding contributions of our residents and allow us to acknowledge and recognize individuals and organizations that have made a significant impact on our community.

“Our community is fortunate to have an incredible network of volunteers who work tirelessly to make a difference in the lives of our residents. The Community Recognition Awards are a way for us to celebrate and thank these unsung heroes for their selfless contributions. It is important we recognize the invaluable work of these individuals and groups and showcase the impact they have on our community. We are excited to launch this program and to celebrate the inspiring stories of our volunteers,” said Mayor Canniff.

Through the Community Recognition Awards program, the Mayor will be honouring individuals and organizations for their hard work and dedication.

Councillors have submitted names from across Chatham-Kent.

The recipients of the awards will be recognized publicly at an event scheduled on May 31st, and their accomplishments will be shared with the community through various channels. This program is not only a way to acknowledge the great work being done in our community but also to inspire others to get involved and make a difference.

If you know of someone or a group you believe is deserving of recognition next year, please contact your councillor.

2023 Recipients

Jackie Beatty - Thamesville

Ken Bechard - Chatham

Carole Ann Belanger - Mitchell’s Bay

Richard Bouwmeester - Blenheim

George & Margaret Darnley - Merlin

Kim Doucet - Tilbury

Hassan El Khodr - Chatham

Dianne Flook - Raleigh Township

Jim & Lisa Gilbert - Chatham

Derek & Brett Gore - Chatham

Sandra Johnston - Wallaceburg

Tim Joyce - Blenheim

Blake Handsor - Chatham

Mary Ann Hawthorne - Ridgetown

Liz Kominek - Dresden

Donna Matier - Wheatley

Donald McKillop - Highgate

James Rankin - Pain Court

Newt & Deb Richardson - Wallaceburg

Bert Vanderheide - Thamesville

Jeff Vidler - Erieau

Dorothy Wallace - Chatham

The Williston Family - Chatham

Marianne Willson - Chatham

Bill Wolsing - Wallaceburg

For more information contact:

Darrin Canniff

Municipality of Chatham-Kent
Phone: 519-360-1998

Media Contact:

Amy Wilcox
Manager, Corporate Initiatives & Communications Officer
Municipality of Chatham-Kent
519-360-1998 x 3055

This communication is subject to the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (Ontario) and/or Personal Health Information Protection Act (Ontario). This communication may be confidential. Unauthorized use is strictly prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete this email immediately.