Where did you grow up? 

I grew up in Chatham, Ontario

What was your first job? 

My first job was at CD Plus in the Downtown Chatham Centre when I was 16 years old. I was able to listen to music all day and talk about the entertainment industry. It was great!

What is your favourite Chatham-Kent pastime? 

My absolute favourite Chatham-Kent pastime would be fishing. We are in the heart of some the world renowned Great Lakes and we have beautiful Lake St. Clair and Lake Erie just a stone throw away. I consider myself very lucky to have such easy access to these bodies of water and their tributaries. I also love golfing throughout Chatham-Kent and travelling to surrounding area golf courses.

What is your favourite season? 

My favourite season is Spring. I love being outdoors and Spring brings many good things: warm and sunny weather, fishing from a boat, my birthday, and seeing all the flowers and trees bloom and blossom.

What did you do after high school?  

After high school, I attended University of Windsor for three years completing courses towards a Bachelor of Honours in Psychology. As well, I graduated from St. Clair College at Thames Campus where I studied for two years to become an Occupational Therapist Assistant/Physiotherapist Assistant in a dual-role diploma. I have also taken some individual courses on Gerontology, Infectious Diseases and Infection Control, Ethical and Legal Issues in Healthcare, and the Kinesiotaping method.

What are you doing now? 

I am currently working as a full-time Physiotherapist Assistant at Chatham Physiotherapy Clinic where I work on patients who come in with all types musculoskeletal injuries and neurological conditions. I am a part-time instructor at St. Clair College for the Occupational Therapist Assistant/Physiotherapist Assistant Program. I am also a part-time tutor at St. Clair College for all the courses within the OTA/PTA program as well as English and Psychology. For the past two years, I have been a Rotarian with the Rotary Club of Chatham Sunrise as well as Delta Waterfowl Kent-Essex chapter, which has allowed me to give back to my community, network with new people, and contribute to the things that I love.

Name an experience that has positively motivated you. 

Experiences that have positively motivated me would some of my recent work-related opportunities and achievements that I have been granted over the past few years. The fact that I could return to my hometown to begin my career full-time is a privilege that I can confidently say has motivated me. These opportunities have truly taught me that who you are shows in what you do. I have been able to grow as a young professional while having a lead role at the physiotherapy clinic in which I work at, being an instructor at St. Clair College and tutoring there as well. These opportunities continue to motivate me to strive for success every day and it is very rewarding to be able to do this in Chatham-Kent.

What is your #1 reason for choosing Chatham-Kent as “home”? 

It is hard to choose just one, so my reasons for choosing Chatham-Kent as “home” are my family, friends, and accessibility to natural resources for my hobbies. I have a small family on both sides and most of them reside in Chatham. Most of my friends are in Chatham that I grew up so closely with, so it is very special to be able to be so close and always connected. Lastly, I have jobs in my field of study and it made the most sense for me to be here. I am so happy with the choice of residing and working in my hometown of Chatham.