What was your first job? 

Elish: Boat Dock Attendant for the City of Chatham. I am one of the few that did not work as a corn detasseler - well for one day I worked for Dave Allin.

Melissa: St Vincent De Paul Camp

Kelly: My first job was as a cashier at Canadian Tire when I was 16. I think I worked there for about a year and a half. I finally decided to quit when volleyball season started because I knew it would not give me enough time to go to all of my practices and games. Priorities are a little different when you're 17, I guess! 

Name an experience that has positively motivated you.

Elish: Putting the cookies back in the cookie jar - being a high school volleyball coach allows me to teach a skill that was taught to me by amazing coaches but most importantly allowing me to teach my student-athletes how to be great contributors to their community.

Melissa: Becoming an Assistant Coach for University of McMaster and Team Ontario.

Kelly: I think one of the most positive experiences that I have had would be working for the WISH Centre over 5 summers. The WISH Centre holds such an important role in the community here in Chatham and I learned a ton of lessons through my experiences there. This specific job is part of the reason I do what I do today!

What did you do after high school?

Elish: Attended Mississippi University for Women and Durham College both on volleyball scholarships. I finished my degree at the University of Windsor as a mature student and attended teachers college in D'Youville.

Melissa: I went to the University of Windsor to pursue a degree and played varsity sports.

Kelly: After high school, I went to Wilfrid Laurier University where I studied Kinesiology and Physical Education for 4 years. Then I received a post-graduate certificate in Therapeutic Recreation at Lambton College

What has made you happy about your move baCK?

Elish: Knowing that my family is in the community. Those familiar faces have become close friends and support systems. Being proud of growing up in Chatham and attending Victoria Park & Chatham Collegiate Institute while being able to connect with my students about growing up here and how great our community is.

Melissa: Being back around close friends and being close to my parents again. I am a homebody!

Kelly: I have always loved living in Chatham-Kent. The small town and feel of community is so important to me. I knew when I was all finished with school that I wanted to come back here and start my career.

What is your #1 reason for choosing Chatham-Kent as "home"?

Elish: Personal relationships and giving back.

Melissa: My friends and family live here, my roots are here and my future is here within the teaching and volleyball community.

Kelly: My reason for choosing Chatham-Kent as home is how close it is to my family. It's so nice to live in a small town but still be close enough to enjoy things that the bigger cities have to offer.

 

You can follow the CKSS Girls' AAA Volleyball Team results and learn their schedule to cheer them on at the OFSAA website