Built in 1875, the Ridge House Museum is housed in a typical Gothic revival home with a symmetrical floor plan. Like other houses of this nature, the Ridge House was built with a single front gable above the centre front door. The design was most often built in rural areas, like Ridgetown. Originally built for Mr. and Mrs George Mulholland, the house was completed in the same year that Ridgetown was incorporated as a village, for the cost of $200.
With its clapboard siding, gable window, and front and side porches, the Ridge House represents a middle class working man's family home. As Ridgetown was gearing up for its 1975 centennial celebration, the Ridgetown Rotary Club purchased the house as their centennial project. With the guidance of the Ridgetown & District Historical Society, the Ridge House Museum was born.
Established in 1975 to ensure that Ridgetown’s history would be preserved for future generations the Ridge House structure and grounds have been restored and are maintained to their Victorian roots. Inside the house, period furnishings and accessories are displayed to reveal to visitors the values and lifestyles of a middle class family in the growing Ontario town of Ridgetown. Guests experience the customs and values of 1875 through interactive tours, interpretive programs, and special events carried out by professional costumed staff.
Since its early days, the Ridge House Museum has been the pride of the community, hosting strawberry socials, children’s day camps, and exhibits on variety of themes. The museum continues to plan family friendly special events, including interpreted tour of our local cemetery called Tales from Greenwood and Victorian Christmas celebrations. We continue to keep our history alive so that future generations may come and visit the Ridge House Museum to experience a moment of the past in the present.
Ridge House Museum is open the first day of spring to the first day of autumn and December 1-23, 7 days a week from 1:00-5:00 PM. Admission is by donation.