Photo of home with a hand holding keys

The Homeownership Program 2020 is not available at this time due to limited funding. We will update the website if/when the program will become available.

The Investment in Affordable Housing (IAH 2014 Extension), Homeownership Program is being delivered by Chatham-Kent Housing Services on behalf of the Federal and Provincial governments.

If you qualify, you can receive 7% of the purchase price of a home, up to a maximum of $10,000. Funding is in the form of a 20 year interest-free loan registered on title. The home must:

To qualify you must...

  • Be a legal resident of Canada
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a current resident of Chatham-Kent
  • Have rented consecutively in Chatham-Kent for the last 12 months
  • Not own or not partially own another home or property
  • Not owe money to a Social Housing landlord
  • Have a total gross household income of $71,300 or less
  • Be eligible for a mortgage at a recognized financial institution. Click here for a list of NHA approved lenders
  • Intend to have this home as your one and only residence (you cannot transfer or lease it to someone else)

Note: Details are subject to change at the discretion of the Chatham-Kent Housing Services Division (CKHS) and per the requirements of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing.
Be sure to check back regularly for updates!