Best Sellers Lists

Globe and Mail Best Sellers

New York Times Best Sellers

Oprah's Book Club

Prize Awards

Canadian Literature

Canada Reads

The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation's annual literature competition between books chosen by well-known Canadian personalities.

Forest of Reading

The Forest of Reading® is Canada's largest recreational reading program! This initiative of the Ontario Library Association (OLA) offers eight reading programs to encourage a love of reading in people of all ages. The Forest helps celebrate Canadian books, publishers, authors and illustrators.

Giller Prize

Giller Prize is dedicated to celebrating the best in Canadian fiction each year and to enhancing marketing efforts in bringing these books to the attention of all Canadians.

Governor General's Literary Awards

The Governor General’s Literary Awards are given annually to the best English-language and the best French-language book in each of the seven categories of Fiction, Literary Non-fiction, Poetry, Drama, Young People’s Literature (Text), Young People’s Literature (Illustrated Books) and Translation (from French to English).

ReLit Awards

Canada's ReLit Award is founded to acknowledge the best new work released by independent publishers.

Stephen Leacock Medal of Humour

The Leacock Memorial Medal is a prestigious annual honour, accompanied by a $15,000 prize, awarded for the best in Canadian humour writing.

Toronto Book Awards

Established by Toronto City Council in 1974, the Toronto Book Awards honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of Toronto

Trillium Book Award

The Ontario government established the Trillium Book Award in 1987 to recognize excellence, support marketing and foster increased public awareness of the quality and diversity of Ontario writers and writing.

International Literature

Commonwealth Writers Short Story Prize

The Commonwealth Writers' Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words) in English written by a citizen of a Commonwealth country.

Costa Book Awards

Established in 1971 (formerly the Whitebread Awards), the Costa Book Awards recognises excellence in books from authors in the UK and Ireland.

Griffin Poetry Prize

The world’s largest prize for a first edition single collection of poetry written in, or translated into English, from any country in the world.

LAMBDA Literary Awards

Lambda Literary Awards (also known as the "Lammys") are awarded yearly by the US-based Lambda Literary Foundation to published works which celebrate or explore LGBT themes. Categories include Humor, Romance and Biography.

Nobel Prize for Literature

The Nobel Prize for Literature is dedicated to “the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction. It recognizes great writers of poetry, plays, essays and speeches.

Orange Prize for Fiction

Launched in 1996, the prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women's writing from throughout the world.

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

International literary award for new works of high literary merit in the English language.

Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969. It “promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year”.

PEN/Faulkner Award (Fiction)

Founded by writers in 1980, the PEN/Faulkner Foundation brings together American writers and readers in a wide variety of programs to promote a love of literature.

Pulitzer Prize

An annual award that celebrates literature, arts and journalism. Each years thousands of entries are narrowed down to win one of 21 award categories.

Science / Fantasy Fiction

Arthur C. Clarke Award

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is a British award given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year.

Aurora Awards

The Prix Aurora Awards are given out annually for the best Canadian science fiction and fantasy literary works, artworks, fan activities from that year, and are awarded in both English and French.

Hugo Award

The Hugo Awards are a set of awards given annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year.

Nebula Award

The Nebula Awards ® are voted on, and presented by, active members of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc.

World Fantasy Award

A selection of presentations made by the World Fantasy convention, for various categories in the field of light and dark fantasy literature.


Agatha Award

The Agatha Awards are literary awards for mystery and crime writers who write via the same method as Agatha Christie. At an annual convention in Washington, D.C., the Agatha Awards are handed out by Malice Domestic Ltd, in five categories: Best Novel; Best First Mystery; Best Short Story; Best Non-Fiction; Best Children's/Young Adult Mystery.

Anthony Award

The Anthony Awards are literary awards for mystery writers presented at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention since 1986. The awards are named for Anthony Boucher (1911–1968), one of the founders of the Mystery Writers of America, and are held in a different location during September, October or November of the year in question.

Arthur Ellis Awards

The prestigious Arthur Ellis Awards are presented in 6 categories for excellence in works in the crime/mystery/thriller genre published for the first time in the previous year by permanent residents of Canada, or by Canadian citizens living abroad.

Edgar Award

Awarded by the Mystery Writers of America, for distinguished work in the mystery genre: novels, television, and motion pictures. 

Gold Dagger Award

The Gold Dagger Award was an award given annually by the Crime Writers' Association for the best crime novel of the year.

More Fiction

Spur Awards (Western Fiction)

The Spur Awards, given annually for distinguished writing about the American West, are among the oldest and most prestigious in American literature.

RITA Award (Romance)

The RITA Award is the most prominent award given throughout the genre of romance novel and some other romantic fiction.

Bram Stoker Award (Horror)

Each year, the Horror Writer's Association presents the Bram Stoker Awards for Superior Achievement, named in honour of Bram Stoker, author of the seminal horror work, Dracula.


Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-fiction

The Charles Taylor Prize is a Canadian literary award, presented by the Charles Taylor Foundation to the best Canadian work of literary non-fiction.

The Lionel Gelber Prize

The Lionel Gelber Prize was founded in 1989 by Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. The prize is a literary award for the world’s best non-fiction book in English on foreign affairs that seeks to deepen public debate on significant international issues.