You Are Here: Home:Heritage Resources:Kent Agricultural Hall of Fame:Kent Agricultural Hall of Fame - 2012 Inductees

Kent Agricultural Hall of Fame - 2012 Inductees

Three men who spent years making farming more efficient and rewarding were inducted into the Kent Agricultural Hall of Fame on Tuesday, November 13th at the Country View Golf Course.
The honour was posthumous for Dr. Gary Richard Ablett, the first head Director of the Ridgetown Campus of the University of Guelph, who was responsible for 50 new varieties of soybeans.  His death at the age of 58, cut short a brilliant career.
Kenneth George Bee of Dresden, followed an early career as a geologist with cash crop farming and agricultural leadership, founding The Grain Growers of Canada.
John Philip Lugtigheid of Harwich Township, headed the Ontario Processing Vegetable Growers, and fought to give growers and all farmers a fair return.

Points of Interest

Last updated:
Friday, November 23, 2012
© Copyright Municipality of Chatham-Kent. All Rights Reserved.

Terms of Use·Privacy Policy·Contact Us·Accessibility